#26. celebrate my half birthday

One of my goals for the 213 in 2013 Project was to learn to embrace life better. To find more pleasure in the day-to-day. To celebrate the little things.

Which is why I celebrated my 23 ½ birthday yesterday.

half birthday cake

It was silly. And it was fun.

Because sometimes you just want an excuse to indulge in a little bit of cake. Or an extra glass of champagne on a weeknight. And sometimes you just want to feel special and celebrate yourself and how awesome you are.

half birthday dinner

And I’m here to tell you that it’s totally ok to do that. And that you should.

All too often we get caught up in the mundane routine of our daily tasks. We stress ourselves out about work, about money, about relationships.

celebrate little things

But I’m teaching myself every day to find the good. And to celebrate it.

(With cake, whenever possible.)

Leave a Reply

