finding good in the world

UPDATE: I was browsing through my WordPress Reader and stumbled upon this beautifully written post – Talks with Tragedy. Go read it – you won’t regret it.

I hit publish on yesterday’s blog post about my picture-perfect weekend when a friend of mine texted me saying there had been an explosion at the finish line of the Boston Marathon, in which her mom was running.

I quick logged on to Twitter and sure enough my entire feed was full of breaking news reports about the unthinkable tragedy that had struck during one of America’s oldest and most prestigious marathons. Images of people missing limbs, bloodied sidewalks and people crying. Videos of the blast knocking down runners. Numbers coming in of the dead and the injured. My eyes glazed over as tears began to fill the rim of my eyes. My heart ached for those whose lives would be forever changed by such a senseless act of violence.

prayforboston5_1x

I went home so angry at the world. Angry at how people could be so cruel. But as I followed the coverage throughout the night, stories began trickling in – stories of hope, courage, selflessness and bravery.

As Mr. Rogers once wisely said – “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

And that’s exactly what we’ve seen since the tragedy in Boston occurred yesterday.

Stories of runners who after crossing the finish line, continued to run to local hospitals to donate blood.

People offering up their homes for free to those displaced after the marathon.

Photo credit: Wall Street Journal

Photo credit: Wall Street Journal

Images of people running TOWARDS the explosion to help others, rather than running away.

What happened yesterday is nothing short of horrendous. But as more reports and numbers continue to come in, I hope that everyone can try to have faith that there is still light and good in the world. I know I’m trying to.

My love and thoughts are with you, Boston. You will overcome this.

Leave a Reply

