the key to life is imagination

Happy Friday everyone! Am I the only one who thinks four-day work weeks feel longer than full ones?

In my usual Friday fashion, I wanted to share a story about someone who inspires me. You all know by now that I’m a big fan of Kid President, but this week I bring you the story of Caine and his cardboard arcade. I’m aware this story is a few months old, but I’m just hearing about it and I hope it’s new to some of you as well.

cainesarcade_0

I was scrolling through this BuzzFeed article yesterday about 26 Moments That Restored Faith in Humanity This Year and there were a lot of touching, heartwarming and absolutely awe-inspiring stories. But the one that caught my attention was the story of 9-year-old Caine who spent an entire summer building an elaborate cardboard arcade out of his father’s auto part store in Los Angeles.

Caine, who has a love for arcades, used his imagination and creativity to construct some of the most classic games including “the claw” and tabletop soccer. Equipped with packing tape and boxes he created a business for himself – making t-shirts, business cards and quite frankly the best deal I’ve ever seen – fun passes that only cost $2 and buys you 500 games.

After an entire summer without getting any customers, but still not discouraged, a man named Nirvan came and spent the entire day playing in Caine’s arcade. Wanting to spread the word about the young entrepreneur, Nirvan took to social media and arranged a giant flashmob to show up and support Caine and his entire summer’s worth of work and imagination.

Caine’s Arcade has since inspired millions and launched a movement to foster creativity and entrepreneurship in kids, via the Imagination Foundation: imagination.is

Check out the video below and share it with your friends and family. I hope you were as inspired as I was. It goes to show you that anyone can a million dollar idea with some imagination (and cardboard.)

TGIF!

Caine’s Arcade from Nirvan Mullick on Vimeo.

2 responses to “the key to life is imagination

  1. Caine’s Arcade is our client!

  2. No matter where I am, I will say “yes, I do!”

Leave a Reply

