(lack of) veggie tales

It’s been awhile since I’ve written about my road to healthiness – and just I’ve been neglecting it on the blog, I’ve been neglecting it in my day-to-day life as well.

Now that doesn’t mean I went out and ate and entire Pizza Hunt pizza with extra cheese by myself (I’d be lying if I didn’t say I kind of wish I had), but my vigor and ferocity from the beginning of October has slowly come to a bit of a crawl. Like today for instance… I’ve been drowning in a mental fog, coupled by a killer headache since 2 because I haven’t eaten a single thing today.

I’ve been doing the whole, “I’ll skip lunch because I’m so busy at work, blah, blah, blah…but it’s okay… I’ll grab dinner when I get home,” routine.

But, but the time I get home I’m so worn out and exhausted that I’d rather set myself on fire and jump off a bridge than cook myself a decent, balanced meal. So naturally, that turns into me snacking on things like chips and salsa, or maybe a few handfuls of goldfish. The ol’ trusted blue box of Kraft macaroni has even made a few reprises these past few weeks and I’m honestly not proud of it. I mean really, if I’m going to eat junk I know I can do better than neon orange cheese powder.

Oh and the three-a-week workouts? Yeah… they’ve become one-a-week workouts thanks to the “ugh, I’d rather rollover and hit snooze a million times than get out of bed to do jumping jacks and lunges across the apartment at 6 AM.”

I’m not discouraged though. Yes, I’ve maybe wandered down some roads that would have been better left untraveled, or cookies left uneaten, on my journey to becoming the best version of myself, but that doesn’t mean I’ve failed and that I can’t pick myself back up.

Here’s where I’m struggling. Big time. And I realize this is totally a Catch 22, so please don’t think the irony is lost on me, because it isn’t.

I’m tired on a constant basis. I yawn far too much and I always find my eyelids a little heavier than I’d like. This turns in to laziness with working out and cooking a good, nutritious meal. It’s easier to sleep in, obviously and it’s easier to reach my hand into the bag of tortilla chips instead of whipping up some nice veggies and chicken.

Yet, I’m fully aware that if I get in the habit of working out and eating better meals, I’ll have more energy and won’t be so tired all the time. Which will allow me to put more time into making healthy meals and working up a sweat.

Here’s where I need your help. I’m a total novice when it comes to healthy cooking. My entire life I’ve been told that the only way to eat anything is to slather carbs with marinara and cheese. And although I’ve spent hours surfing the web for “easy to make healthy meals,” usually they stay on my Pinterest board and rarely make it to stomach.

veggietales

So I’m outsourcing. I’m asking pleading you to send me your favorite healthy recipes that are simple, and easy to make. I’m talking something I can whip up in 30 minutes when I get home at 6:30/7 at night after sitting in an unhealthy and ludicrous amount of traffic. I’m also talking affordable, too. You know those nasty, little things called student loans? Well, they’ve found me and they’re demanding I pay up, which leaves me with little money to grocery shop with. But I want (need) to learn how to put the little money I do have into good use, to make mouth-watering, delicious meals that are chock full of nutrients and vitamins and all that other healthy jazz.

Please send your favorite recipes my way in the comment section below. I’d also love great blog recommendations for places I can find some recipes of my own to try out.

I’ll update this blog with how the different recipes have turned out once I’ve attempted them. Don’t be surprised if I come back with something along the lines of “Ewww” or “Gross.” I have the palate of a toddler whose main food groups are chicken nuggets and spaghetti.

https://i0.wp.com/www.mommyq.com/wp-content/uploads/Picky-Eaters.jpg

But… I’m getting there. One yucky green vegetable at a time.

Bon Appetite!

2 responses to “(lack of) veggie tales

  1. Have you checked out Abby Ecker’s blog? She is a fellow new PR pro who just graduated from UDel and she has an amazing healthy living blog filled with awesome recipes: http://levelupfood.wordpress.com/

    • I have seen it — thanks to your weekly roundup posts! Definitely a great blog to check out… thanks for recommending it Jess! Any favorite meals or snacks you like to prepare?

Leave a Reply

