gobble de-lite

I usually hate Mondays (who doesn’t?) but with this being Thanksgiving week, I don’t mind so much. While I’m saddened by not being able to spend the holiday with my family and friends, I am excited for Mike and I to take our first stab at starting our own Thanksgiving traditions.

This past weekend we solidified the menu and I’m excited because even though I’m the one that has to do all the cooking, I have total control over the menu and finally get to make Thanksgiving foods that I like. Which means there’s no turkey this year, thank gobble. (Yup, I went there.)

Instead we’ll be making a delicious rotisserie chicken, followed by homemade mac n’ cheese, green beans, cranberry sauce and of course, homemade pumpkin pie. I’m sure that with our first attempt at a menu like this, the chicken will probably come out dry and the mac n’ cheese won’t be cheesy enough, but I can’t wait to get down and dirty in the kitchen with Mike. This Thanksgiving will definitely be one for the scrapbooks.

While everything on the menu sounds absolutely delicious, it definitely gives me and my waistband a scare. I’ve been doing fairly well with my healthier new lifestyle (except my birthday weekend… I totally tanked on cake and carbs), so I wanted to see if I could find a way to make a mouth-watering Thanksgiving meal without having to go up a few pant sizes.

You’d be amazed at how many “healthy version of X” recipes you can find with a quick Google search. It just goes to show you with some creative substitutions, you can eat comfort foods without all the guilt.

Here are some of the healthier alternative recipes I’ll be whipping up for the holiday:

For my fellow turkey-haters, chicken can be a great Thanksgiving alternative. Check out this delicious recipe from Self Magazine.

If I could eat mac n’ cheese every day, I totally would. This lighter and healthier version of my favorite classic from Fitness Magazine cuts the calories without cutting out the comfort.

No Thanksgiving meal is complete without pumpkin pie and FitSugar gives 20 awesome ideas for ways to get creative while keeping the calories down.

What do you think of these healthy alternatives to staple Thanksgiving treats? I know my waist will be thankful that I won’t have to put on my elastic yoga (eating) pants at the end of the day.

What are some of your favorite Thanksgiving recipes? I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

