on the road to healthy

First, I want to start this post by saying how thankful I am for the overwhelming amount of support I received after yesterday’s blog post. It was truly amazing to see the words of encouragement and incredible kindness coming from friends, people I haven’t spoken to in years and people I have never even met. It was exactly the extra boost of motivation that I needed to see this thing through. So again, thank you.

Now… after yesterday’s “revelation” I was excited to find healthy, delicious recipes and try new foods and dare I say – vegetables.

After leaving work and picking up my fiancé, I drove straight to Trader Joe’s, grabbed a bright red cart, and very slowly began making my way through each aisle. Usually I skip right over the fresh produce and head to the pasta (I’m an Italian… it’s in my blood).

This time I carefully meandered my way through the rows of greenery, carefully examining what each and every item was, and I’ll admit, growing a little overwhelmed with all of it at first…. Baby spinach, broccolini, bok choy, edamame, kale.

However…slowly, but surely my cart began filling up with fresh, healthy foods. Fruits and vegetables replaced chips and cheese curls, skinless chicken breasts replaced overly processed sausages, whole wheat pastas replaced starchy ones.

I thought today I’d share some of the new recipes I found on (you guessed it) Pinterest that I’m excited to make this week.

If you have any favorite recipes you’d like to share, I’d love to hear them!

Zucchini Fries: French fries are one of my weaknesses, so I’m especially excited to try this delicious looking alternative provided by The Lean Greenbean.

Skinny Spaghetti: I’m an admitted carboholic, so this healthy alternative to one of my favorite dishes sounds awesome. Plus, squash is finally back in season!

Blackberry Froyo: For when my sweet tooth is acting up, this sounds like the perfect replacement to my usual peanut butter ice cream. Much fresher and lighter!

5 responses to “on the road to healthy

  1. I love spaghetti squash and can’t get enough of it…so excited it’s back in season! The “fries” look super delicious as well!

    • I’ve never tried squash or zucchini so I’m excited to make and try both – thanks for commenting!

      • You are welcome! definitely give them both a try. I’ve posted a few spaghetti squash recipes on my site and it’s super easy and great for anytime you want to swap out those pasta carbs! 🙂

  2. Good for you, Niki! I’m so excited to hear your plans for getting healthy.

    Remember that moderation is key. Don’t fully cut out the foods that you love and look forward to 🙂 For example, if you enjoy chips, try switching to rice chips (I LOVE the Lundberg brand from Whole Foods: http://www.lundberg.com/products/Rice_Chips.aspx)

    Also, be sure to look at serving size. A big issue I realized was that I was just eating WAY too much of the things I enjoyed and not even realizing it.

    Happy to chat whenever you’d like about this! It’s certainly a process.

    • Thank you for the advice Jess! You were a great inspiration to me as I followed your progress and I’m hoping to get to where you are one day. And your right… moderation is definitely key! Something I failed majorly on the last two times.

      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

